Home Technical Talk

Normal map workflow

Hello,

From searching online forums and Polycount its clear I am not alone in my very consistent and frustrating problems with normal maps. This post is not for for a specific problem with a model its more to find out what you pro's think is the most hassle free and fast workflow to produce a quality model with a normal map. Personally I have tried Mudbox, Zbrush, Xnormal and Baking in Max. I find I get the best results when baking within Max which not always suitable for organic art. Zbrush has caused nothing but frustration while Mudbox hasn't give me much better in terms of results.

Xnormal I am still learning so I do not still have a verdict on that but so far I am seeing more potential. I would like to ask is Max 2014 problematic with normal maps because I find the directX shader problematic at times. Please note I am using Zbrush 4R6 and Mudbox 2012. My GPU is an AMD 5870 with 16 Gb ram

Please let it be noted I have changed and turned off the gamma in max and still get consistent errors such as seams. I have also fliped the green channel initially in Zbrush and in max. I have tinkered with countless settings from suggestions on forums but may be missing something as I am just learning so I have decided to come and annoy everyone here :poly124:.

Do many people use topogun (Retopologize) in their pipeline?

Is there a bug I am missing in the tools I use?

Basically what is your thoughts on the tools and pipeline which should be used when creating normal maps?

If you take the time to read my big long post I commend you haha thanks for any feedback. :)

Replies

• Futzy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I've been learning this process while getting used to UE4, and have found xnormal object space bake (with cage) -> handplane UE3 preset for tangent space works well for that engine.
  • brianmac90
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Futzy wrote: »