Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Verutum anti-armor rifle

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
KyleJensen polycounter lvl 12
Hey folks. I'm a student and I'm working to improve my high ---> low poly workflow.

I'm currently working from Keith Thompson's anti armor rifle concept. His website can be found here.

Reference:

verutum.jpg

High Poly:

VerutumHP1.jpg

VerutumHP2.jpg

Crits + comments are greatly appreciated.

Replies

• gilesruscoe
    Offline / Send Message
    gilesruscoe polycounter lvl 10
    Hiya,
    Looks like a pretty interesting concept to work from, however, in the artwork it looks a little beaten up, maybe do a pass over in zbrush to scratch it up a little bit, or are you going to generate normals from flats and overlay them with the normals from your HP? Either way looks like a pretty solid start.
  • Norron
    Offline / Send Message
    Norron polycounter lvl 13
    Man, I love Keith Thompson's concepts and have been wanting to do one of his pieces for ages.

Will be watching with interest.
  • Stromberg90
    Offline / Send Message
    Stromberg90 polycounter lvl 11
    You got a good start here, i just have some things to point out.

Here is some color coding.

Make the shapes rounder, looks to sharp now

Is it just me, or does this look like a cock?
    mIX5U.jpg

Keep on going, love to see where this goes :)
  • KyleJensen
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the crits, guys:

@gilesruscoe: I think for this prop I'm going to overlay normals from a filter if anything. Although running it through Zbrush wouldn't be a bad idea either. I'll think about it. :D

@Stromberg90: No problem. I'll just soften up the control edges in those areas.

I'll continue to post updates of my progress.
  • letronrael
    this is a really cool concept, your modeling look great so far !! good job

by the way, where did you get that concept art ?
  • KyleJensen
    Offline / Send Message
    Update: