Home Unreal Engine

[Noob Question] Work Flow Question

zombiexm
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
zombiexm polycounter lvl 3
I am pretty stumped by this , after watching a few people develop environments inside udk.

1) How would you go by introducing content to the udk?
I currently import each static mesh separately, and build the world by hand. I have seen a few people import the environment built inside max to UDK?

2) Should I worry about Polycount for small showcase work?
I understand the need for keeping polycounts low, but in a environment that's the size of a room with only amount of meshes would it matter if I do not?

3) I've read about pre-made game scripts for udk, I was wondering if anyone can point me to a few of them? I am not a expert at uscript or any coding, but I can get around.

thanks!

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    1) That really depends on what you are doing.
    If you need to use the terrain tools that is probably better than importing a huge mesh for the ground.
    If you are doing an indoor hallway or a street, you're probably fine to use static meshes and their collision.

2) If you're making something pretty just for the sake of it, use whatever resources you have. If you're pretending that your room is part of a larger game then you need to allocate resources to the room as if it was a small part of something bigger, so don't use the entire tri count budget for a game, on one room. When potential employers look at your stuff they will ask themselves, how well does this fit in our game.

3, no clue.
  • zombiexm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    zombiexm polycounter lvl 3
    1) That really depends on what you are doing.
    If you need to use the terrain tools that is probably better than importing a huge mesh for the ground.
    If you are doing an indoor hallway or a street, you're probably fine to use static meshes and their collision.