Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Camie's art improvement - critique wanted

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
camie polycounter lvl 7
HeIlo!

I've been lurking on the forum for a while and decided to make a post.

I'm a hobbyist and have drawn for a while, but it wasn't till a week ago that I realised that I didn't know a sh*t about the basics of painting. How light and colour behaves. I've always drawn from my mind or used references.

I noticed that many of you are very good at art and give very good and constructive critiques.

Replies

• jonjon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jonjon polycounter lvl 6
    Hey camie, your work is quite strong so far and from what you've posted I wouldn't say that you've got too bad an understanding of lighting, especially for someone who's not sure how confident they are in that area.

As for colour, I will say that it can be a tricky thing to get the hang of, especially when so many different artists have different ways of handing it and using it to strengthen their work. Personally, I found this youtube tutorial really helpful, it works well with my style and it might work well for you too :)
    [ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6odO2JIeKM[/ame]

One thing I think you might need to work on is possibly tightening the detail within your work. Taking a guess at what brushes you use, your paintings seem very soft edged and so a lot of the details get blurred in together and it can be hard to make out what certain areas are meant to depict. I'd say experiment with brushes, be brave with your brush strokes and don't be annoyed if it goes wrong, that's what experimentation is all about, you may find something you really like from it :)

Really great work so far, keep at it, looking forward to seeing more of your stuff on the forum!
  • camie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    camie polycounter lvl 7
    Thank you @jonjon! Very good feedback and video! I'll try what you suggested, thanks!
  • camie