Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Gun sword thing

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Layt polycounter lvl 4
Hey! This is my first post here, and this is something I've been working on. Its a carbine, sword, scifi,.. something?

Before I graduated we had an artist from Gearbox come and give a lecture on the weapon pipeline for Borderlands 2. I thought it looked pretty neat and now that I have some time I decided to give it a try, though modified a little bit.

Since I was just goofing around with textures I didn't bother to make a really detailed high poly, or make a bunch of modular parts.

Now honestly I cant remember if the line work was physical and the painting was digital, or vise-versa. So what I did was print out the UV shells and paint them with gouache paints. I chose gouache because I like the heavy look of it, and felt it would match up with the wood and steel. The line work is all digital, overlaying the physical paint. I really like the way Telltale handled their lines so I followed their style a little more.

Anyway its 3302 tris and the UVs are packed for third person. It has a 1024x1024 diffuse, glow, spec, and normal map. The renders are just screen grabs from the Maya view port. It was a fun experiment and any feedback is of course greatly appreciated.

a35ac92c7924270fe2d8d7ff9d404bb0?AccessKeyId=C239AFECC35025C17BAF&disposition=0&alloworigin=1

0d851dede7d98461bb964866134a710d?AccessKeyId=C239AFECC35025C17BAF&disposition=0&alloworigin=1

ab0d0c7c6425c9e85f5b725cc1d2b5d6?AccessKeyId=C239AFECC35025C17BAF&disposition=0&alloworigin=1

203d8bc87347a34615be0722eaa15671?AccessKeyId=C239AFECC35025C17BAF&disposition=0&alloworigin=1

48bdde213bbca1edc22d23317c67f63d?AccessKeyId=C239AFECC35025C17BAF&disposition=0&alloworigin=1

Replies

• Layt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Layt polycounter lvl 4
    For those that care to see this stuff.

wire_zpsfc3183b3.jpg~original

gunswordNORM1_zpsbe87c159.jpg~original