Home› 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Floating Island Environment

Hi folks! Long time Polycounter, very rare poster. I'm currently working on new assets for my portfolio, as a lot of the ones I have from my previous job are not flattering enough to get me a new one. Been working on this environment for a little while, and I'm starting to get to the point where I struggle, the polish phase.

I'm very new to UDK, so a big portion of getting this to look okay will be in terms of actually figuring out how to light a scene in UDK and figuring out the small things. One thing I'd really like to know is if you can use the mesh paint tool in max with a shader that will let you mix three textures. I've got it working to blend between two, but I can't figure out three. (I'd assume it'd just be the RGB channels.) I'm currently just using the default skybox, but I intend on painting my own before I'm finished. The tree is also probably one of the weakest elements of the scene.
FL_00.png

FL_01.png

FL_03.png

FL_04.png

FL_05.png

FL_08.png

FL_06.png

I really am looking for critique here, as well as some tips and advice for getting UDK to play a bit nicer. Like I said, this part of working on things is definitely the hardest part for me, but I need to follow through.

Thanks for checking it out! :D

Replies

• cholden
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    awesome, but I like things a lil' practical. Where do you sleep? Since the windmill internal mechanics would fill that room.
  • industria
    Haha. There's a little hammock up above that the little ninja who lives there sleeps in. :D
    FL_09.png
  • Darkleopard
    Looks nice but i feel that the grass is a little to aqua in colour, could use more green and less blue
  • Jessica Dinh
    Offline / Send Message
    Jessica Dinh polycounter lvl 10