Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Student Looking for Feedback on Character

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Xane polycounter lvl 6
Hi there. I'm a student in my final year at Edinburgh Napier University here in Scotland. I'm after some feedback on my character for my dissertation and I was wondering if the Polycount community can help me out here? I have been working on this redesign of the character from the game Quake. The general artistic design I have been going for was to fuse together elements from the original as well as more recent pieces of fan art.

Also I need you to confirm that you don't mind me using your feedback in my report via this survey. You have to enter your e-mail address and username in the text box. Don't worry I have no intention spam you, it's simply a formality.

Any way here's the screens, I'll include a board of inspiration (not my work) to show my inspiration. Thanks in advance for your highly valuable input.

Link for survey: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/7H7C8GY

Replies

• Xane
  • Xane
  • DWalker
    The head seems too small for the body, and the shoulders look to be quite high relative to the arms. In general, armor can make the proportions seem odd, so it's usually best to get feed back on the basic shape before adding thick armor.
  • butt_sahib
    Offline / Send Message
    butt_sahib polycounter lvl 11
    Hey Xane

Looks pretty sick overall.

My crits:-
    1- The chest piece/shoulder pads could use some more extreme deformations like extrudes/bevels/general hills and valleys idea. At the moment it looks like youve got a base of simplistic armour and youve slapped on some stencils on it. I suggest go and really bring some pieces out and push some pieces in alot more. The boots show a great level of variation, the chest piece/shoulder pads not so much, especially the back
    2- That upper lip is huge! and the angle of the mouth area looks odd