Home General Discussion

Your view on Mobile constant runner games.

Hello there!

Currently i am a student on a Foundation degree in games art and am rather new to these sort of areas, so am asking you for any sort of advice you can give me!
For one of my projects i am required to make an asset pack for the unity store to potentially be downloadable for people to use themselves.

As of my title i have come to a conclusion to create 2D backgrounds for continuous running games ideal for a mobile game (preferable of iOs software so does include iPads but not androids as i've chosen to stick with the iOs software)

Good examples of what games i've been looking at generally refer to classic arcade games - where all you would have were the option to move the character either left or right on the screen ( The original Mario game being a perfect example of the sort of game i'm referring to.) - i am looking into what visual style you would look for in games similar to that but for a more modern and intricate game. Would you be looking for something bright and colourful? Or would you be looking for something a bit more in depth and detailed? Would too much background detail ruin the actual game for you or would it make it a better more entertaining gaming experience?

Any views would be greatly appreciated, including whether or not you would pay for a game like this, maybe helping me to indicate how visually appealing this should be if it was a free download of work to be used for a free downloadable game.

I will be updating a 2D work showcase later this week with the work and examples i have already put towards this, which i will link when it's done.

Thanks so much for your time, any feedback would be fab!

Replies

• gsokol
    So wait, a requirement in school is to use what is likely educational licensed software for commercial purposes?
  • EnterOleyxis
    It is an arts college, the software has been fully paid for, so no.
  • Joao Sapiro
    Offline / Send Message