Home General Discussion

Advice sought - Work opportunity; Character Art for kids show

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Jarvgrimr polycounter lvl 10
Hey all,

I am a 3D artist, and I have gotten involved with a small 2D animation studio (in Australia) for some prospective work. I am a recent graduate, so any sniff of work has been jumped upon, and it's quite hard to come across in this part of the world.

Anyhow, the studio want me to make a kind of ... proof of concept, a fully modelled character (fur covered), and preferably with some animation (I am not an animator by trade, I have done some but I haven't pursued it). They want this asset to use as a pitching device to for the production company, so the production team can choose between 3d or another format, so if the 3D is a no go, then I won't get any work out of it anyway... but if I they like the 3D then this could be a big job.

The head of this group is one of those "I'm a creative" type of creatives; as in he doesn't give any logical deadlines or information, knows nothing of 3D animation or production cycles. His timeframe deadline was "yesterday/tomorrow". So in other words, useless. Plus this fully modelled, textured and covered in realistic fur, and preferably rigged/animated character is being done for free... at first. I am only going to send footage of the character, and frames, thus proving the concept is sound.

I am not parting with the asset until I get paid (This seems like the right plan. They don't have an animator anyway, I know a guy who can animate in Modo, which is the software I am going to use and I am going to see if he wants to do the animation side.).