Home General Discussion

HOW TO stand out to potential employers

Hey guys/girls

Recently i have been applying for jobs all over the UK and Europe.

Obviously coming from a self taught background with no formal education other than a diploma, I was just wondering if you peeps had any tips on how to stand out among the hundreds of other applications in the pile!??

Ive been working really hard on my folio and I feel i have it to a potential point were I could land a junior position in a AAA studio.

So now i'am trying to figure a way out of which I could have a change of being considered over those who are just fresh out of college!

I do have the experience of working on a few small titles including No More Room In Hell which came out on steam!.

Ideally If there was any artists on here from the UK/Europe area who could give me a few tips that would be really appreciated

Thanks guys! :D:D

Replies

• FullSynch
    Offline / Send Message
    FullSynch polycounter lvl 11
    Same boat here, so I can't really offer general tips, but before anyone can tell you how to change your portfolio, you're gunna have to show us it. :)

"no formal education other than a diploma" isn't that a formal education? Or did you major in something unrelated to art?
  • Gav
    Offline / Send Message
    Gav quad damage
    Man, it could be anything. Could be your portfolio, could be the content you've focused on, could be the skill level, could just be bad timing...I can pretty much guarantee you that the education thing comes way after your portfolio and how you present yourself - unless you're going for a teaching job, or overseas, or something like that.