Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Ape_Errata

Hi all,

My name is Peter. I'm an artist at heart and currently a QA Tester in games industry by day. I'm hoping to one day reach a point where I can be creating things for a living as opposed to just admiring the work of others. I dabble both in 2D digital art and 3D (mostly Zbrush). I'm a relative lightweight with Zbrush but always trying to learn. Critiques, comments, advice, and encouragement are welcome! And hopefully i'll try to consistently try to update here. Thanks!

charr_5-1-13.jpg

asurahelm_4-23-13.jpg

z_dragon.jpg

1295_10151129524381781_1227854637_n.jpg

nick_knight_8-5-12_fin.jpg

http://www.flickr.com/photos/peterarata/

Replies

• NEKOTIQ
    I think your sculpting work needs a bit more creases and definition to them. Your 2d works are okay but lack various tones or high dynamic range and are also less defined in areas where they can be sharpened. That is all I noticed currently with looking at the work shown.
  • Arkevil
    I agree with NEKOTIQ

Definitly need to refine the sculpts and put more time into them. I'm just seeing blobs of unsculpted clay.

1. Define your forms
    2. Adopt a sence of fluidity to your sculpt
    3. Dont be afraid to get really detailed.

2D also needs much love. There isnt enough definition to determin whats going on. Its messy, almost dirty.

1. Clean your linework
    2. avoid lazy mistakes (spot of white near females arm)
    3. more contrast (evenly disbursed)
  • NEKOTIQ
    Arkevil wrote: »
    I agree with NEKOTIQ

Definitly need to refine the sculpts and put more time into them. I'm just seeing blobs of unsculpted clay.

1. Define your forms
    2. Adopt a sence of fluidity to your sculpt
    3. Dont be afraid to get really detailed.

2D also needs much love. There isnt enough definition to determin whats going on. Its messy, almost dirty.

1. Clean your linework
    2. avoid lazy mistakes (spot of white near females arm)