Home General Discussion

Crunch Time in the Games Industry

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Joebewon polycounter lvl 12
Hey fellow Greenteeth,

I wanted to discuss Crunch Time when it came to working on games in the industry. I've been working at a small indie studio for about 4-5 months now and I just had my first major crunch. I work roughly 70+ hours throughout the past week.

So I was just wondering if Crunch is still a very valid thing throughout the industry? I know this changes from situation to situation and how different studio cultures are. But, are 70 hour work weeks almost expected when it comes to having a studio job?

Definitely interested to hear what you guys have to say, and feel free to share any tales from your Crunch experiences!

Replies

• Bruno Afonseca
    It changes from studio to studio and also from team to team within studios. With me it was never forced upon people, always optional.
  • JacqueChoi
    Offline / Send Message
    JacqueChoi polycounter
    I think what's becoming more prevalent, is the 'passive crunch' culture that Google pioneered.

At these studios 'Crunch' isn't mandated, but a LOT of people take extra time to ensure their work is the absolute best it can be within tighter deadlines (only works at studios that grant a significant amount of autonomy).

Which in turn creates a culture of people staying late, so the people who LEAVE early are often perceived as the weaker links on the team, or unable to keep pace with the people who regularly stay an extra few hours.
  • Grimmstrom
    Offline / Send Message
    Grimmstrom polycounter lvl 7
    Crunch is very much studio dependant. Some demand it, while some are much more lenient. The most important thing is that you get your work completed and you do it to a high standard. This is something I always aim for.