Home Technical Talk

Polycount Estimate?

Hello. I have a question about the common topic of what a good polycount is. I am currently working on a model that I have bumped up from around 7,100 to 31,000 in ZBrush to use as my low poly instead. I have extruded a portion of the model, so now they don't show up so well compared to the higher versions. I have tried editing the topology in ZBrush, but I am still new to it, and am approaching a deadline for my portfolio.

So my question is to save time, if I decide to use the next lowest subdivision as my low poly instead, would 125k polys be waaaay overboard? (The model is a large monster) Normally, I usually stick with doing the best I can with low polys. But with hearing ridiculously high polys for next gen stuff, would it really be that bad?

Replies

• sub_roland
    Offline / Send Message
    sub_roland polycounter lvl 12
    My understanding is that 20-30k is alright for your main characters (kratos is 20k) Not sure what the "next-gen" will be pushing though. And I've been working on tablet stuff for a while, so my counts are a bit low these days :P But i think the next push for assets seems to be displacement maps. so you would still have the lower geo (~20k) and a new texture map would do that work.
  • JamesWild
    Offline / Send Message
    JamesWild polycounter lvl 8
    Next gen characters might actually be lower poly with a bigger focus on topology for efficient, clean tessellation.
  • D4V1DC
    Offline / Send Message
    D4V1DC polycounter lvl 18
    JamesWild wrote: »
    Next gen characters might actually be lower poly with a bigger focus on topology for efficient, clean tessellation.

I would believe that, with some new tricks or more maps!
  • Tavor
    Offline / Send Message
    Tavor polycounter lvl 8