Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: JamesClarke

About time I made a sketchbook here instead of just drooling over everyone elses work. I'm in my second year at University studying Games Art and I want to get better and this place seems to dish out honest, helpful and constructive criticism.

Here's some of my most recent work so far this semester.

Comments and criticism welcomed on everything I post.

k0023750clarkejamesbike.jpg

k0023750clarkejamesbike.jpg

k0027350clarkejameschar.jpg

k0027350clarkejameschar.jpg

k0027350clarkejamesbeau.jpg

Replies

• Blaisoid
    Offline / Send Message
    Blaisoid polycounter lvl 7
    models look nice but your specular maps definitely could use more work. at the moment everything seems to have that smeared glossy look. maybe material settings need some tweaking as well.

btw, the texture on the bike feels rather low res considering it's 2048x2048. did you use any uvw mirroring?
  • allmighty_thunder
    Offline / Send Message
    allmighty_thunder polycounter lvl 13
    i really like all these models nice :)
  • JamesClarke
    Thanks guys. You're right Blaisoid, this was actually my first time using specular maps so I'm still learning how to make them work properly. No I didn't mirror any UVW's something I overlooked; also with the time constraints of the assignment the texture is quite sloppy and rushed in general, I will get round to improving it when I have time.

Here's something I made today for my environment production assignment (I'm doing a small chinatown courtyard area, about 7 buildings + props):
    building01.jpg
  • JamesClarke
    Some more buildings I'm working on in Max for a UDK environment:

buildingsinprog.jpg
  • HAWK12HT
    Offline / Send Message
    HAWK12HT polycounter lvl 12