Home Unreal Engine

Importing a sphere. Why so hard?

Hi there.

I'm working on a small game for my portfolio. I've followed some UDK tutorials before, so I'm somewhat familiar with how the program works, but I'm not an expert. Before I created too many assets, I wanted to run some tests, just to make sure I wasn't doing anything wrong or missing something. I'd hate to have to go back and remodel every static mesh. So, I did a simple test and ended up with an abomination. Let me take you on a step-by-step journey of my process, complete with screenies, so that you can spot any mistakes I made.

In 3DS Max, I made a box, converted it to an editable poly, assigned a single smoothing group to everything, and applied TurboSmooth.

BXPzZT2.jpg

I unwrapped the mesh on two UV channels, both identical. OK, I know I shouldn't have done that before TurboSmooth, but I didn't think it would make much difference. Besides, I also went back and re-unwrapped it after TurboSmooth, but my results were the same. I didn't take any screenshots of that, so just image the UV islands are the same size and position, but rounder.

tyHY2hp.jpg

I wasn't worried about texture maps or collision for this test, so I was done with Max. I converted everything to an editable poly again (to collapse the stack) and exported it as an FBX file. I think I used the right settings, but my FBX version contains a few options that Epic doesn't mention in their slightly out-of-date manual.

I4rTTKw.jpg

I imported the file into UDK. I was pretty sure of the settings this time. My confidence is probably misplaced.

b8siNQO.jpg
QVClPwO.jpg

Upon importing, I get a warning about how my FBX version is so new that it's out-of-date. My UDK version is Feb 2014, the latest.
An out of date FBX has been detected.
Importing different versions of FBX files than the SDK version can cause undesirable results.

File Version: 7.4.0
SDK Version: 7.3.0
I created a very basic glossy material for my mesh.

vKi2xek.jpg