Home General Discussion

I'm a sketchbook artist, what about you?

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
Fwap polycounter lvl 13
Rant incoming.

I just had a curious thought, whilst musing over what actually separates a good artist and a GREAT artist and what the fuck i'm doing with my art I had an epiphany, i'm a sketchbook artist.

Meaning what I do in 3d art, a 2d artist would fill a measly sketchbook with. Doodles, and not the 3d Doodles that polycount loves.

A stone wall here a material study there, no actual pieces of art.

Now i'm not sure if this is just a part of the learning process or not, but i see myself every day being surpassed by peers who started much later than me, maybe i'm just blind to my own successes.

I don't really know how to bring this rant to an end, i'm a much worse writer than I am an artist.

blergh...

Replies

• Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool
    a good start would be to show portfolio.
  • Fwap
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fwap polycounter lvl 13
    I can't believe i'm even doing this, makes me sick.
    www.joelazzopardi.com
  • Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool
    so , yeah , less paleio , more trabalho ! ( get to work , set yourself realistic goalds, but just keep doing ! the hard surface modeling challenges that pop in ocasionally are great to learn ! ) Good luck man !
  • GrevSev
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GrevSev polycounter lvl 9
    I am too but I have a problem I need to work out.

I cant finish anything or stay on something for too long and I end up doing a study or something and sleeping.
    At least I'm a lot better than the crap I have up online right now.
  • Arcade
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arcade polycounter lvl 2
    Ive always felt hating your work is a good thing, so as long as it drives you to do better and not deter you.