Reply
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
danidem's Avatar
Old (#1)
EDIT! Finished!!





Latest Update!






There we go!!!

I'll update tomorrow all of this with a good presentation, Lore and all the stuff... but to get an idea, Disruptor went back to the Oglodi Lands and explored deeper on the lost civilization to scrutinize deeper the secrets of bolt and thunder.

One of the old books talk about Rampant, a gluttonous bird-creature created by Zeus and gone wild. The document talks about some adventurers that saw the creature running on forgoten steppes, eating bolts and running fast like lighting through it, leaving behind him a thunder trail. Noone of those little siluettes sawn by those persons are identical but the shape of Rampant is similar. He found a closest picture of the creature, and he went to hunt him.

(Tomorrow he'll hunt him I guess!)


Cheers!



Update 10/14



Update 10/21



Update 10/24



Update 10/26



Update 10/31



Update 11/04



Update 11/06



Update 11/10



Update 11/10



Update 11/12



Update 11/15


Last edited by danidem; 12-04-2012 at 12:30 AM..
Offline , spline, 113 Posts, Join Date Aug 2012, Location Spain  
   Reply With Quote

Avanthera's Avatar
Old (#2)
Looking really nice so far! I'm digging the direction you decided to go in, he has a much more arched look to him.
Offline , polycounter, 1,097 Posts, Join Date Feb 2009, Location San Francisco  
   Reply With Quote

Mike.j.c.'s Avatar
Old (#3)
Just looking at it makes me wanna ride it!
nice one
Offline , null, 14 Posts, Join Date Oct 2012,  
   Reply With Quote

Lennyagony's Avatar
Old (#4)
Love the concept danidem, Disruptor will look great getting around on this guy.
Offline , polygon, 552 Posts, Join Date Sep 2009, Location Australia  
   Reply With Quote

Spudnik's Avatar
Old (#5)
Extraordinary as usual!

The only problem I can see is that the polycount will skyrocket because of all the spikes.
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,611 Posts, Join Date Jul 2011, Location Germany  
   Reply With Quote

Qwiggalo's Avatar
Old (#6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spudnik View Post
Extraordinary as usual!

The only problem I can see is that the polycount will skyrocket because of all the spikes.
Non-issue, most of the spikes can be flat planes.
Offline , spline, 116 Posts, Join Date Mar 2011, Location Los Angeles, CA  
   Reply With Quote

Spudnik's Avatar
Old (#7)
Does Disruptor have transparency enabled?
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,611 Posts, Join Date Jul 2011, Location Germany  
   Reply With Quote

AimBiZ's Avatar
Old (#8)
Quite an exiting design. Looking forward seeing this modelled.
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,321 Posts, Join Date Dec 2007,  
   Reply With Quote

Xeramon's Avatar
Old (#9)
The first one and the third looks realy amazing!
Can't wait to see the model.
- Xeramon (cant good english)
Offline , vertex, 33 Posts, Join Date May 2010, Location ... Send a message via ICQ to Xeramon Send a message via AIM to Xeramon Send a message via Yahoo to Xeramon  
   Reply With Quote

Mark.N's Avatar
Old (#10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spudnik View Post
Does Disruptor have transparency enabled?
Disruptor himself, or any hero for that matter, does not need '$alphatest 1' in their base .vmt (disruptor_color.vmt in this case, or more specifically mount_color.vmt) as long as you go ahead and add it to your own .vmt upon compiling.

mount_color.vmt does not have $alphatest 1 so be sure that when you go to compile your materials that you add it if you plan to use alpha cards for the spikes.

The concept looks great and I really look forward to seeing how the mesh turns out.
Offline , spline, 173 Posts, Join Date Feb 2009, Location Bonita Springs, FL  
   Reply With Quote

Spudnik's Avatar
Old (#11)
I thought there was some rule against using alphas and double sided faces on heroes that don't already have them enabled by default?! Don't get me wrong, I'd love if that wasn't the case and I'm just remembering incorrectly. Follow up question, though: Can you test custom .VMTs in-client (at work so I can't check)? I seem to remember that you'd have to replace a default item, for example and couldn't just use the submit tool (which would cut into iteration time in a big way). Again, may be wrong on that one.
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,611 Posts, Join Date Jul 2011, Location Germany  
   Reply With Quote

Lennyagony's Avatar
Old (#12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark.N View Post
Disruptor himself, or any hero for that matter, does not need '$alphatest 1' in their base .vmt (disruptor_color.vmt in this case, or more specifically mount_color.vmt) as long as you go ahead and add it to your own .vmt upon compiling.

mount_color.vmt does not have $alphatest 1 so be sure that when you go to compile your materials that you add it if you plan to use alpha cards for the spikes.

The concept looks great and I really look forward to seeing how the mesh turns out.
Cheers for the additional info on transparency Mark, will be incredibly handy. Do you know if i add the line myself will i be able to view the transparency in the stock standard publish new item window? (Edit: beat me to it Spudnik!)
Offline , polygon, 552 Posts, Join Date Sep 2009, Location Australia  
   Reply With Quote

D4V1DC's Avatar
Old (#13)
Yea I am loving all of this.

I think if you add the 2nd eye (in your 2nd thumbnail) preferably the higher one a little more behind the would be "main eye", would make It not look like a regular bird and maybe make It the demon eye. ;)

Reminds me of the ravenlord which i love so.
meh, drinking is bad.
Offline , veteran polycounter, 3,009 Posts, Join Date Jan 2005,  
   Reply With Quote

BoBo_the_seal's Avatar
Old (#14)
Love the concept! Very well done
Offline , Moderator++, 1,583 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Austin Texas!  
   Reply With Quote

Mark.N's Avatar
Old (#15)
Yes, you have to replace a default item in order to view custom opacity on an item (Assuming your hero does not natively support it). In order to do so (Use Dota 2 Test for this so you don't screw up your main game) follow these steps:

1) Go into your main steam Library, right click Dota 2 Test, go to properties, updates tab, and from the drop down choose "Do not update this game automatically".

2) Using GcfScape, extract all of the game files from pak01_dir.vpk located under dota 2 test/dota into dota 2 test/dota. This essentially de-compresses all of the game files.

3) Rename all .vpk files located within dota 2 test/dota to something like pak01_000.vpkOLD. This will cause the game to load the uncompressed files rather than using the .vpk archives.

4) Using Studio Compiler, de-compile whichever default item you wish to replace in order to obtain it's .qc file. In this case it would be /dota/models/heroes/disruptor/mount.mdl. The only line that needs to be edited in the .qc file is the very first one; $cd "<insert your file path here>"

You may use any standard text editor for writing .qc; I prefer notepad++ as you can get a .qc language plugin for easier reading.

5) Export your custom model (as a .smd) from your 3D program being sure to follow the naming conventions of the default item you are replacing.

6) Using GuiStudioMDL, load up the relevant .qc file and compile your new .mdl; copy it into dota/models/heroes/<your hero here>.

7) Using VTFEdit, import all of your .tga textures into the program and simply export them out as .vtf files; follow the naming conventions of the default item you wish to replace.

8 ) Using a text editor, modify the .vmt file for the slot of your choosing and add $alphatest 1 somewhere in the middle of the code. I generally place it right before the Proxies line.

9) Launch Dota 2 Test and use the Loadouts window located under the Customize tab to view your custom item. It should show up as the new default. It should also work in-game as well if you create your own lobby, join a team on All-Pick, populate it with a passive bot or two, and choose your hero to view your item inside of the game map.

That being said, Spudnik may actually be correct about there being a rule against using opacity on heroes where it isn't already supported. Quoting the workshop page
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valve
Alpha channel of 32 bit "_color" texture can be used as opacity for your item if alpha is allowed for this hero.
So keep in mind that you may not be able to use alpha cards for the spikes and may have to model them out. Lucky for you the mount has a rather high polygon budget
Offline , spline, 173 Posts, Join Date Feb 2009, Location Bonita Springs, FL  
   Reply With Quote

Computron's Avatar
Old (#16)
I want one.
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,838 Posts, Join Date May 2011, Location Minnesota, USA  
   Reply With Quote

Tvidotto's Avatar
Old (#17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spudnik View Post
Does Disruptor have transparency enabled?
Hey spudnik

im not sure about that, but as it will be a new model and texture, it can br enabled on the vtm

each weapon has it own vtm or the entire character has one? now im in doubt
Online , Moderator, 1,581 Posts, Join Date Mar 2011, Location São Paulo - Brazil Send a message via Skype™ to Tvidotto  
   Reply With Quote

Qwiggalo's Avatar
Old (#18)
I beleive I read on the dev forums from robin walker that each hero has one VMT for all of their items and base.
Offline , spline, 116 Posts, Join Date Mar 2011, Location Los Angeles, CA  
   Reply With Quote

Mark.N's Avatar
Old (#19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tvidotto View Post
Hey spudnik

im not sure about that, but as it will be a new model and texture, it can br enabled on the vtm

each weapon has it own vtm or the entire character has one? now im in doubt
It's per object.
Offline , spline, 173 Posts, Join Date Feb 2009, Location Bonita Springs, FL  
   Reply With Quote

Tvidotto's Avatar
Old (#20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark.N View Post
It's per object.
just checked the files, its per split item

in the disruptor, for example, the hair has one vmt, the body other, and the mount other

the mount dont have the alpha but as a custom item i dont see any problems in adding it
Online , Moderator, 1,581 Posts, Join Date Mar 2011, Location São Paulo - Brazil Send a message via Skype™ to Tvidotto  
   Reply With Quote

Spudnik's Avatar
Old (#21)
But don't all the items get combined into one model at the start of the game? How does it work then? If only one of the items has the transparency flag, does the whole combined one get it? If that's the case, then they probably won't allow you to use it because of this quote that Mark.N found earlier in the thread:
Quote:
Alpha channel of 32 bit "_color" texture can be used as opacity for your item if alpha is allowed for this hero.
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,611 Posts, Join Date Jul 2011, Location Germany  
   Reply With Quote

danidem's Avatar
Old (#22)
First is first

@ Computron: We'll try our best to make that happen!

@ Bobo: Thanks mister! I appreciate that

@ Xeramon: Thank you! I still have to keep working on the creature study in 2D. Anyways, the modeler already started

@ Supdnik: Yaaay thanks!!

@ $!nz: I already played with the beak to don't make it look like a regular bird... the idea is to avoid the demonic looking because of the natura of the character riding him, a Radiant. Anyways you can be badass AND be one of the good guys... that's the challenge! Thanks!

@ Mark.N: Thanks man!

@ Xeramon: Damn I'm getting depressed... let me play a bit around with the creature after sending him to the 3D factory :P I want to make sure everything it's working on him as well as giving a real good concept and reference for the 3D artist, for me, it's a must Cheers!

@ AimBiZ: Thanks for the kind words!!

@ Lennyagony: Thank you!

@ Mike.j.c.: Glad you dig!

@ shrew81: Agree! I played a lot with that, thanks a lot!


I was supossed to have more time starting yesterday to be full time for this, but seems like it will be next Monday

Anyways I'll keep this updated everyday (:

There we go with a Wip of the sheet, we'd like to share all the process either final stuff or not.



I'm actually working on the final shapes of the character. I'd like to give to Soldeus (my 3D mate on this adventure) as I said before a really well defined concept/sheet and references to work with.

Finally I decided going for a more agressive feeling for the feathers. It haves advantages everywhere: it fits better with an electrical creature, we can save polys, we set it appart for most birds out there, gives to it a more speedy feeling...

About the beak, the way the bottom part it blends it's more original in my opinion and, like the spike feathers, it set him appart from a common bird.

I made sure the spikes are sepparated enough to avoid any clipping issues with the body or the legs when he moves the head, and also that brings him so kind of lion looking wich I really like, it fits for a creature created by a god.

And still not the best presentation, the lore it's not finished.. Looks like hunting Rampant it's taking to Disruptor more than expected! I hope he gets it soon!

Cheers and thanks for stoppin' by here!

Last edited by danidem; 10-13-2012 at 08:46 PM..
Offline , spline, 113 Posts, Join Date Aug 2012, Location Spain  
   Reply With Quote

danidem's Avatar
Old (#23)
And by the way guys, I'm really glad about that helpful technical chat you are having here around. I think it's gonna help a lot!
Offline , spline, 113 Posts, Join Date Aug 2012, Location Spain  
   Reply With Quote

Computron's Avatar
Old (#24)
I want one IRL.

Also, I think I prefer the alternate beak.

Cheers!
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,838 Posts, Join Date May 2011, Location Minnesota, USA  
   Reply With Quote

Anuxinamoon's Avatar
Old (#25)
Wow that concept is mad good! Love love love this!
Offline , polycounter, 1,295 Posts, Join Date Sep 2007, Location Widgee, Australia  
   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 1998-2014 Polycount