Reply
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Olli.'s Avatar
Old (#1)
hey guise. Ive been wondering that has to be a better way for this:



as you can see, there are many small edges on the border of the UV island, and i want to weld them. This is just an example, and sometimes the UV island is bigger and there are crazy amounts of small edges to be welded..

Usually i've just swallowed my pride and went through welding each edge seperately, but that just takes a long time and is highly inefficient.

there has to be another way?
Offline , polygon, 578 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Tampere, Finland  
   Reply With Quote

perna's Avatar
Old (#2)
you forgot to write which software you're using. I assume it's not max, because in max what the weld function does in the first place is exactly what you want.
Offline , veteran polycounter, 4,955 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Tenerife, Spain  
   Reply With Quote

Olli.'s Avatar
Old (#3)
sorry i always forget to mention it since max is the only one ive ever used :P

i realized this picture example is not very good, because all the vertices to be welded are closer to each other than they are to the verts they stem from.

if you select a vert, you can see how all the other verts that correspond to the same vert on the model, they sort of light up as if they are also selected.

what i want is to select a bunch of vertices, then weld them to their respective vertice-partners.. dunno if that makes sense.

heres a better example:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15275414/verts.PNG

Last edited by Olli.; 05-07-2012 at 08:04 AM..
Offline , polygon, 578 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Tampere, Finland  
   Reply With Quote

perna's Avatar
Old (#4)
ok, so instead of the regular weld-distance weld you want one where you only select one vertex of each pair, which is then automatically target-welded to its closest neighbour?

I would suggest you inspect your workflow instead, because that's going to be slow no matter how you cut it. What exactly stops you from just selecting all the verts and using regular weld? It would take a few seconds to do.
Offline , veteran polycounter, 4,955 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Tenerife, Spain  
   Reply With Quote

Olli.'s Avatar
Old (#5)
no i want to be able to select all the verts i want, then all those verts will be welded to their neighbors where possible. (like if i select 3 vertices, and 2 of them are neighbors, the 2 vertices will be welded and the 3rd one will be left alone.

in the example i posted there are only 3 vertices, but imagine if there were maybe 100 vertices in similar conditions. I cant beleive nobody has made a script or something for this yet. I cant think of any reason why you would want to weld two verts that are not neighbors..


what stops me from using normal weld: the 3 vertices in the example, if i select them and normal weld, they will all be welded to the middle vertice. The left and right vertices which are neighbors are further away from each other than they are from the 3rd vertice.
Offline , polygon, 578 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Tampere, Finland  
   Reply With Quote

sprunghunt's Avatar
Old (#6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olli. View Post
no i want to be able to select all the verts i want, then all those verts will be welded to their neighbors where possible. (like if i select 3 vertices, and 2 of them are neighbors, the 2 vertices will be welded and the 3rd one will be left alone.
in the unwrap window there is a 'weld threshold' setting. Set this to zero or a very low number.
---------------------------------------
sci-fi base
Robot Hunters Room
CER level
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,477 Posts, Join Date Apr 2005, Location Califonia  
   Reply With Quote

Olli.'s Avatar
Old (#7)
then they dont weld at all.

this is nothing you could do with the conventional weld tool, because the weld tool chooses which vertices to weld based on distance between the verts, whereas i want to weld the vertices based on whether or not they are pairs.
Offline , polygon, 578 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Tampere, Finland  
   Reply With Quote

perna's Avatar
Old (#8)
This is a bit strange.. Why did you make all those small horizontal cuts in the first place, only to have to close them later? Seems like you should just remove that step from your workflow, if it happens often.

You can use the stitch tool on edge selections like this:
Offline , veteran polycounter, 4,955 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Tenerife, Spain  
   Reply With Quote

Olli.'s Avatar
Old (#9)
i didnt make the horizontal cuts, they are there to begin with.

this thread is not about the example pictures, they are just there to try to explain what i want to do.

What im trying to ask in this thread, is that is there some way to weld vertices based on whether or not they are neighbors, instead of the distance between the vertices?

just forget all the examples, they obviously didnt work.
Offline , polygon, 578 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Tampere, Finland  
   Reply With Quote

sprunghunt's Avatar
Old (#10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olli. View Post
then they dont weld at all.
Set the W value to zero before you weld. There are three dimensions in the UVW unwwrap and you can only see two of them.
---------------------------------------
sci-fi base
Robot Hunters Room
CER level
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,477 Posts, Join Date Apr 2005, Location Califonia  
   Reply With Quote

perna's Avatar
Old (#11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olli. View Post
i didnt make the horizontal cuts, they are there to begin with.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olli. View Post
just forget all the examples, they obviously didnt work.
Can you provide screenshots of real-world cases where you actually need this functionality AND the problem can't be avoided by improving your workflow so as to avoid those cuts in the first place?

It does seem like it's your workflow that's the problem, not the tools.
Offline , veteran polycounter, 4,955 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Tenerife, Spain  
   Reply With Quote

Olli.'s Avatar
Old (#12)
sprunghunt are you reading this thread at all or are you just replying after the first sentence?
Offline , polygon, 578 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Tampere, Finland  
   Reply With Quote

Olli.'s Avatar
Old (#13)
perna i really cant think of any right now, but in the 4 years i've been modeling and unwrapping, this problem HAS crossed my path many times. I think you're getting too caught up in the examples i posted, i know they could be done differently to avoid the problem, but i was purposefully simulating a situation where the tool i am looking for would be handy.

why is it so hard to give a yes or no answer? does this tool exist?
Offline , polygon, 578 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Tampere, Finland  
   Reply With Quote

perna's Avatar
Old (#14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olli. View Post
why is it so hard to give a yes or no answer?
Why is it so easy for you to be impolite towards the only two people who are trying to help you? Rhetorical question, btw. Good luck onwards.
Offline , veteran polycounter, 4,955 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Tenerife, Spain  
   Reply With Quote

Olli.'s Avatar
Old (#15)
i wasnt trying to be impolite, i was just trying to explain what i was trying to ask. From your replies it really didnt sounds like i was doing a very good job at explaining.

its just very frustrating trying to explain what i want to do which is hard but then you just keep answering all kinds of different unrelated things.

Last edited by Olli.; 05-07-2012 at 10:10 AM..
Offline , polygon, 578 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Tampere, Finland  
   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 1998-2014 Polycount