PDA

View Full Version : Maya: Duplicate over curved surface?


Belltann
09-05-2011, 02:00 AM
Hi.

I would like to duplicate objects over a curved surface, like bolts etc. At the moment i use make live in maya, but then i need to tweak the position seperatly to get the bolts to point out from the mesh. Do you know if there is a script or technique to simply duplicate an object on a surface and the object will get transform info from the surface normal?

Ive seen it in max, but would be cool to get it in maya.

Sorry if this question allready been posted.

cheers!

TeriyakiStyle
09-05-2011, 02:26 AM
HI. Try this script:

http://www.creativecrash.com/maya/downloads/scripts-plugins/utility-external/misc/c/extended-duplicate-options

Best one I've seen for maya and what you are trying to do. If you need to I can walk through the steps tomorrow but it should be fairly easy to install/use.

GL.

TeriyakiStyle
09-05-2011, 02:33 AM
I think I remember a way to do it with mesh-paint too... but I'll have to check it out tomorrow :) bed time for me.

Belltann
09-05-2011, 02:41 AM
TeriyakiStyle: Cheers dude. The tool looks great but its toooooo old :) im using maya 2011 X64, and thats not supported at the moment. Do you have any alternative ways to get it to work on 2011?

ghib
09-05-2011, 03:29 AM
Not sure if this is exactly what you want (I'm in a bit of a rush today) but I've found it very useful for a lot of things. sppaint3d (http://www.creativecrash.com/maya/downloads/scripts-plugins/utility-external/misc/c/sppaint3d)

CheeseOnToast
09-05-2011, 03:41 AM
Try this :

geometryConstraint -weight 1;
normalConstraint -weight 1 -aimVector 0 1 0 -upVector 0 1 0 -worldUpType "vector" -worldUpVector 0 1 0;

To use it, select an object you want to constrain to, then select your bolt. Then run the script. You should now be able to drag the bolt around with the middle part of the move tool handle and it'll respect the normal of the constraining object. Make sure you use "duplicate special" to create more bolts, with the option "Duplicate Input Graph" ticked.

Belltann
09-05-2011, 04:04 AM
ghib: Cheers bud i'll check it out.
CheeseOnToast: You sir, you rock! Works as a charm :)

CheeseOnToast
09-05-2011, 04:36 AM
Cheers, but it's not my script. Got it from someone here on PC a while back. Can't remember who though.

SP paint is great, but it's better suited to random scatter in organic environments. Well worth checking out though.

TeriyakiStyle
09-05-2011, 11:05 AM
Ah, my bad... glad it worked out though and more importantly we all have a new sweet script via CheeseOnToast! Thanks guys.