PDA

View Full Version : Uv problems in max


jetskee96
09-01-2011, 05:23 PM
I am having problems trying to create a second uv channel. I can't figure out how to create it in 3ds Max 2012. Can some one tell me what I am doing wrong.

http://i55.tinypic.com/2d6shlw.jpg

nezach
09-01-2011, 06:19 PM
That's the standard dialog you get when changing channels in Max now.

It's just asking you if you want to transfer the layout from the channel you were on to the new one, or go with what's currently in the channel you are switching to.

Mark Dygert
09-01-2011, 06:26 PM
That's not an error message that's their crazy attempt to better explain maxs cryptic behavior. It should read something like:

"would you like uv channel 2 to start out with the existing layout or the default layout that has been saved into the mesh?"

Click move, to copy the existing layout as a starting place for uv2 don't worry about uv1 its not going anywhere.
If at some point in the future you need to edit uv2 again, set the channel to 2 and hit reset, then open the editor.

jetskee96
09-01-2011, 08:55 PM
Thanks, that helped. I think that this is another autodesk fail. I know for 2011 it was goofy, but at least I knew the steps.