View Full Version : Two Maps, Two UV Channels. Help

08-30-2011, 09:27 PM
ok, this is somewhat of a long post.
to catch everyone up to speed.
i modeled a prop and made to uv channels, one uv channel has regular unwrap so i can do my texturework over. The second uv channel is for my normal its basically my first except i broke off a lot of pieces so i could get a clean bake and those nice soft edges.

is there anyway to have them both appearing in the viewport having any problems?

as you can see from the picture below, it works without hardware shading on its just a hassle having to render every time to see what im working on.
i would assume that changing the explicit map channel would make it work with hardware map in viewport but i guess not

so i decided to use a workaround and install xoliul shader 1.6. (keeping it old school not trying 2.0 yet)
and it worked like a charm!!! only problem is when i render it nothing shows up. I for sure though i had a good enough video card for the shader, am i wrong?


and finally i decided to take a wack at xoliul shader 2.0. only to get this error. when i try to load any map.


AT this point any help whatsoever would be grateful!! thank you

08-30-2011, 09:46 PM
Xoliul shader, if I am not mistaken, is a viewport only shader, so it won't show up when you render. And I get the same issues with Xoliul 2.0 and I have posted such in the Xoliul 2.0 thread (http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=88289). As I am not the only one having issues, I am sure something will be fixed sooner or later. As for as getting your normals to show up right in the viewport that is what viewport shaders are for. :) I have only used Xoliul's shader, but I am pretty sure there are others around.

08-30-2011, 09:50 PM
im pretty sure Xoliuls 1.6 is supposed to render as far as i know.


on his faqs it describes solutions to it, but the only thing i can come up with is that i don't have a supportive videocard :/

08-30-2011, 10:27 PM
--on her faqs it describes solutions to it,...
First, Laurens Corijin is a guy, second you don't need to render, Xoliul is a realtime viewport shader, it's already rendered in the viewport, just grab a snapshot of the viewport, third I'm not sure what the error is your getting but I'm sure they will get it fixed right away though. I can't count higher than 3 so I'm done. Good Luck!

08-31-2011, 10:46 PM
cool thanks!