PDA

View Full Version : Normal seam

The Laughing Gnome
08-30-2011, 07:30 AM
Hey, I was wondering if anyone could tell me what might be causing this dark seam to appear around the top of this model of a capacitor I'm making?

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5739555/Polycount/Normal%20seam.jpg

The seam is showing up around the edge where my uvs are split. I'm pretty sure it's not a hard edge, unless my smoothing groups got corrupted at some point while I was bringing the model into UDK.

This is my first attempt at normal mapping. I had a look at EarthQuake's normal mapping sticky first and noticed the geometry at the end of his barrel model is actually almost identical to what I've got, so I'm not sure where I've gone wrong with my normal map/uvs.

Thanks in advance :)

EarthQuake
08-30-2011, 07:39 AM
Where is this baked, and where is it being displayed? It might just need the green channel to be flipped, if for example you baked in max and are looking at it in marmoset.

The Laughing Gnome
08-30-2011, 07:54 AM
The image highlighting the seam is a screenshot from UDK. I baked the normals in xNormal with my swizzle coordinates set to X+, Y- and Z+ (which I'm pretty sure was the right setting to use for UDK, going by the Eat3D tutorial I was following).

ZacD
08-30-2011, 11:55 AM
Was there a hard edge on the low poly there before you baked?

The Laughing Gnome
08-31-2011, 03:36 AM
Okay, well I tried unplugging the normal map in UDK to confirm that the mesh definitely has no hard edges (I double checked to see if I had any hard edges before baking too, but both my high poly and low poly definitely had all soft edges).

I also tried rebaking the normals again in xNormal with the green channel flipped (X+/Y+/Z+) and managed to get a bake that works perfectly in Maya, but still causes the seam to appear in UDK :poly132:

Any ideas?

Thanks

passerby
08-31-2011, 03:55 AM
set your 2 UV islands to 2 different smoothing groups.

The Laughing Gnome
08-31-2011, 04:16 AM