View Full Version : Automatically generate a low poly for this

08-17-2011, 03:44 PM
Sadly I have lost all evidence of a low poly file for this shirt, and Im not sure how I managed to that. But I have this shirt. Its quadded and its pretty simple in topology and I was wondering if there was any way I could make a low poly for this?

I would retopo but the one thing stopping my is the collar


08-17-2011, 03:51 PM
You could give this a try, http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/subdivision-reversion .

08-17-2011, 04:14 PM
Not free :(

08-17-2011, 04:20 PM
Do you just need the earlier subdivision levels reconstructed, or are you looking for a suitable lowpoly mesh for a game? If the latter, I don't think retopologizing it would be too hard even with the collar (like you shouldn't have to model underneath it unless you want to animate someone popping it up, just focus on the silhouette and the texture/normalmap should take care of the rest).

08-17-2011, 04:26 PM
I wanted the earlier subdv level reconstructed for the latter. Retopoligizing only gets me right at the front of the collar where Im pretty sure I need that pocket under the collar to give a good effect. I guess it dosnt play THAT big of a role in silhouette, but im worried the effect may be ugly :S

08-17-2011, 04:30 PM
can't you export it to zbrush and reconstruct subdivision.Unless there are any tri's this normally works for me

08-17-2011, 04:33 PM
Where exactly is that feature?

08-17-2011, 04:44 PM
meshlab is free and does a reasonable decimation. if you google it there was a tutorial video i think. or just retopo it manually - its a reasonably simple form so shouldnt be too hard to do. how low poly are you going? there's no way any game i know of would have the underside of the collar modelled unless it was a prerendered cutscene and then you could just use the high poly, no?

08-17-2011, 04:54 PM
Then should I retopo over the collar so its one solid mesh or use a single plane of polys and just do the top of the collar?

Eric Chadwick
08-17-2011, 05:49 PM
One solid mesh. Not enough silhouette change.

08-17-2011, 06:44 PM
Sounds good, thanks guys.

08-17-2011, 07:13 PM
can't you export it to zbrush and reconstruct subdivision.Unless there are any tri's this normally works for me

It keeps all quads, so its much easier to edit :)


08-17-2011, 09:25 PM
Worked perfectly! Wow thats awesome! Thank you!

08-18-2011, 12:39 AM
Mudbox does this too..

08-18-2011, 02:29 AM
Awesome :)

Sean VanGorder
08-18-2011, 07:39 AM
Just for future reference, 3d Coat also has a auto-retopo function that works quite well for simple objects.


08-18-2011, 10:30 AM
Mudbox does this too..
Could you tell me where this function is? Would love to know :)

08-18-2011, 11:24 AM
Mesh > Rebuild Subdivision Levels :)