PDA

View Full Version : Automatically generate a low poly for this


frell
08-17-2011, 03:44 PM
Sadly I have lost all evidence of a low poly file for this shirt, and Im not sure how I managed to that. But I have this shirt. Its quadded and its pretty simple in topology and I was wondering if there was any way I could make a low poly for this?

I would retopo but the one thing stopping my is the collar

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/3851/shirtrjo.png

nrek
08-17-2011, 03:51 PM
You could give this a try, http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/subdivision-reversion .

frell
08-17-2011, 04:14 PM
Not free :(

cryrid
08-17-2011, 04:20 PM
Do you just need the earlier subdivision levels reconstructed, or are you looking for a suitable lowpoly mesh for a game? If the latter, I don't think retopologizing it would be too hard even with the collar (like you shouldn't have to model underneath it unless you want to animate someone popping it up, just focus on the silhouette and the texture/normalmap should take care of the rest).

frell
08-17-2011, 04:26 PM
I wanted the earlier subdv level reconstructed for the latter. Retopoligizing only gets me right at the front of the collar where Im pretty sure I need that pocket under the collar to give a good effect. I guess it dosnt play THAT big of a role in silhouette, but im worried the effect may be ugly :S

Ruz
08-17-2011, 04:30 PM
can't you export it to zbrush and reconstruct subdivision.Unless there are any tri's this normally works for me

frell
08-17-2011, 04:33 PM
Where exactly is that feature?

tharle
08-17-2011, 04:44 PM
meshlab is free and does a reasonable decimation. if you google it there was a tutorial video i think. or just retopo it manually - its a reasonably simple form so shouldnt be too hard to do. how low poly are you going? there's no way any game i know of would have the underside of the collar modelled unless it was a prerendered cutscene and then you could just use the high poly, no?

frell
08-17-2011, 04:54 PM
Then should I retopo over the collar so its one solid mesh or use a single plane of polys and just do the top of the collar?

Eric Chadwick
08-17-2011, 05:49 PM
One solid mesh. Not enough silhouette change.

frell
08-17-2011, 06:44 PM
Sounds good, thanks guys.

metalliandy
08-17-2011, 07:13 PM
can't you export it to zbrush and reconstruct subdivision.Unless there are any tri's this normally works for me

This.
It keeps all quads, so its much easier to edit :)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v299/metalliandy/ZB_Recon_SubD.jpg

frell
08-17-2011, 09:25 PM
Worked perfectly! Wow thats awesome! Thank you!

cptSwing
08-18-2011, 12:39 AM
Mudbox does this too..

metalliandy
08-18-2011, 02:29 AM
Awesome :)

Sean VanGorder
08-18-2011, 07:39 AM
Just for future reference, 3d Coat also has a auto-retopo function that works quite well for simple objects.

http://www.3d-coat.com/3d-coat-35/

Ace-Angel
08-18-2011, 10:30 AM
Mudbox does this too..
Could you tell me where this function is? Would love to know :)

cptSwing
08-18-2011, 11:24 AM
Mesh > Rebuild Subdivision Levels :)