Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Male Torso (First Sculpt)

Hi There!
I've been following some tutorials to try and teach myself some 3D art. Anyway, I didn't feel like doing tutorials today so had a go at sculpting. I'm a complete beginner so be as tough on me as you like because i have a lot to learn!

This is the result so far:

Front:
gK1r19V.png

01N4Vfn.png

Side:
IHg6pKD.png

Back (Though not much done :( )
rdMz7J4.png

I mostly concentrated on the front, and was finding the back much more difficult.

Here is what i was mainly using as a ref : http://www.medimage3d.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/Male-muscles-front-side-back-1024x560.jpg

Thanks, i hope the screen shots are ok.
:poly121:

Edit: Just looking now, after i posted, i've noticed his bum is too big? I'll look at that first tomorrow

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Do you see how, gesturally speaking, your abs are imploding in from the side rofile view as opposed to getting that mounding out before it reaches the pelvis?
  • Leviculas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah JadeEyePanda, you're right. I kinda have it going in the wrong direction. I'll take a look at that tomorrow.

• Leviculas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I feel like the pecs are too high? Not sure though, maybe too small? If anyone has any thoughts on that it would also be helpful. Thanks
  • AtticusMars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    Please, please use a reference from life.

That reference is horrible. That shouldn't be anywhere in your reference pile, much less your main ref.