Home Career & Education

Would I get hired as an environment artist without a traditional modelling DCC under my belt?

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
I'm currently studying a game art program that has been fairly messy in terms of curriculum so far, and as a result has left me a bit adrift in terms of skillset. The most we spend on a topic may be a month until moving on to something wildly different. For example in 4 weeks we would do a walk, run and jump cycle for a pre-rigged character before rigging and animating a pre-made car and implementing that in-engine; after that we had to visually develop a static scene in unreal as a group and after that 2 weeks of storyboarding. 

Not only is there a big emphasis on group projects (four multi-week projects in as many semesters), but they have been actively discouraging the production of assets. There seems to be a focus on content creation in Unreal, so lots of megascans, mixamo, etc. 

This may not sound so bad, but in all honesty I don't know whether I'm coming or going... For my goal as an environment artist it feels like program I'm on is a bit counter-productive. I have been following Maya tutorials and doing some basic props here and there on the side; and took it upon myself to get into Substance Designer in our recent group project (a brutal experience as no teacher had experience with it lol, got a nifty stone wall out of it though!). But I'm 6 months in and I'm not satisfied with my level at all.

The course is two years long with a 6 month internship and I'm pessimistic that I'd be able to contribute as an intern let alone a professional when all is said and done, as my school has me jerking between software and fields too much to get good at any one thing. (We're going to be doing concept art and 2D animation in the second and final year for some reason).